Pet Peeve

My biggest pet peeve is when people are assumptive towards me. I like to write and watch horror films and, for some reason, people always think it’s because of ditzy blondes and sexually related themes. I think that is being assumptive and it bugs me to no end.

I recently wrote a book, a horror novel, in which the law pursues a crazed serial killer and when I announced that I was writing said novel a lot of the feedback I got was people attempting to call me out on what I was writing exactly. It was horrible to have that many people having a negative idea of me when they didn’t even know me in the first place. I felt depressed and, if not for several close friends, I would’ve stopped writing altogether. I mean I only wanted to write a book, a book that I only consider part horror. It’s mostly about good verses evil with bits of horror thrown in. I felt like fading away, because I felt so many people hated me without giving me a fair chance.

I think that it’s perfectly fine for people to speak their minds, but only if they are fully aware of what they are speaking against. Just throwing random hatred around can hurt people who aren’t fully deserving of the punishment. I think this behavior should be halted immediately, because it can hurt people who have done nothing.

That is all, thank you for your time.

2 comments on “Pet Peeve

Leave a comment