College Assignment 12

This was just too good not to share it with the rest of the world:

Hello, everyone.

My name is Marvin Hollon and I have been tasked with looking through the courses I will have to take in the future, and I have finally noticed that Digital Literacy isn’t even the beginning of the work I am going to have to do, not to say that I’m not looking forward to it.

One of the core programs that I am awaiting, one that I really just cannot wait to get to is Behavioral Science Course, because I have always been incredibly interested in psychology and the human condition. So, for this course to be available to me is just fantastic. In my novels, I always deal in psychology and darker material and for me to turn that on myself, just sounds like lots of fun.

Another Course I really am looking forward too is the Children’s Entertainment course. I am really looking forward to taking this course, because I feel I really need to. I have always tried to focus my attention on a novel exclusively for children, but I have never had the ability to do it. Someone once said that I lacked the training, so when I saw the course I was so incredibly excited. I think it will help me a lot in my efforts of Children’s Entertainment.

I have also been tasked with finding two courses that, on the outside, seem not to be of great importance to me. One is, undoubtedly, College Mathematics. I do not like Math and have found the schoolyard skill useless in writing, but maybe I have judged it a bit harshly. I think, perhaps, it would be good to have Math and Algebra as a skill, incase I have to, for some odd reason or another, take a math class in the future. So, in hindsight it would be pretty handy.

Another course that, at first glance, seems pointless is the Art History Course. For me I’ve never been incredibly gifted at art, not even average. That also means, I have never really had a great sense of what art is, so perhaps this course can help me get a better understanding of art as a whole. Also, I might learn a thing or two about drawing and eventually animation. So, this class is probably going to be really helpful.

Next step; I have one strength that I am extremely proud of, and it is that I am an amazing storyteller; I am not over-selling myself in the least. I think the fact that I am a great storyteller, will impact my progress positively, because it allows me to be creative with the assignments and add a little innovation to everything I do, which will probably effect my grades and make everything I do unique, or at least that is what I hope.

One weakness, as I have said before, is that I am introverted. In a crowd I am uncomfortable and uneasy and, most likely, will be trying to get away. I like to do most of what I do by myself. I do take chances, but I don’t like groups, which is why I am taking the courses online. I also dislike making movies for assignments, it’s because I am introverted. So, as I look around at the upcoming courses, I know I will have to overcome that and, if I am being honest, I’m looking forward to that day.

Now I am supposed to create a timeline of sorts, showing my goals and ambitions and how I will plan them out with the courses I will be taking. It’s not an easy thing to do, but it will be fun. Here it is:

  • Creative Skills Course: I hope to learn how to look at plot points differently and come at my storytelling with something that is both predictable and shocking.
  • Behavioral Science: In this course, I hope to learn everything I possibly can about the human condition, something that I can’t do anywhere else. I really need this class, so I just cannot wait for it to get here. I will be taking notes on this one.
  • Creative Writing Research: This course is going to be exciting. I really do need help with researching real-world knowledge to go with the fictional worlds I create.
  • Symbolic Communications and Cartography: While taking this course, I hope to develop better twists and plot points within my novels. This is going to be a big help.
  • Historical Archetypes and Mythology: I have always had an interest in mythology, be it through urban legends or mythical beasts, so this course will help me to better know what I am talking about. And, in the end, it will help me be a better writer.
  • Scriptwriting Techniques: I have been writing screenplays for several years now, so it will be nice to know if I have been doing it right or not. Also, I will finally have Final Draft downloaded onto my computer.
  • Introduction To Game Writing: My experience at writing for games is none, but I have been interested in creating games for a while, but books have always taken over. So, to finally learn what it takes and how to execute it will be a great experience.
  • Transmedia Writing: Again, having been interested in writing for TV shows or magazines have been the secondary focal point of my life, so I see this course as a necessity.
  • Children’s Entertainment: I would like to learn how to write exclusively for Children. Something, I have never been able to do in the past.
  • Publishing and Distribution: Having been stiffed by publishers twice, now, it would be nice to learn a bit more about how the operation works. This is what I hope to do.
  • Writing Workshop 1: Film: I have never written a screenplay for a movie, only TV shows, so I would like to learn how to do it, and the course outline says that I will be getting feedback from instructor and peers, so it seems like a safe environment to practice and perfect in.
  • Writing Workshop II: Television: I have often dreamed of one day having my own, or writing for, a TV series, so to learn the proper way to do go about it will be incredible.
  •  Writing Workshop III: Storyboarding, Animation and Comics: Another, personal, dream of mine is to do a fully animated movie of my first novel. With this course, I will be better equipped to do just that one-day.

Above, is my goals matched up with my courses, the assignment wasn’t very clear, so I guessed and did my best.

Thank you for your time.